Childhood Revisited

Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood? If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?

My childhood days have come and gone

Most days were good mingled with a few bad

I lived my childhood to the fullest

Dreams and wonder, playing and learning

Some lessons I learned were harder than others

But by the grace of God I made it through

When my Mom spoke I listened

Like E. F. Hutton every word was gold

She always had something to say that needed to be told

 

My every step was ordered

All the twists and turns showed me the way

Some times in life are important

We have to become serious and not always play

 

If I had it to do over is there anything I’d change

Today I’d say no but can’t say no for yesterday

I’ve drawn many times from what I learned long ago

The words of wisdom that apply today and tomorrow, forever

 

A single parent I became one day, loving my children with all my heart

I vowed to give them a good life that they deserved

They didn’t ask to be here, I couldn’t give them less

I taught them how to be good upstanding citizens

To be good and kind and treat folks as they wanted for themselves

 

I received a good life and made sure I passed it on

Leave a Reply

